Goodbye Junk Food for the Mind

features-brainfood-1

My husband and I have made a decision to turn off the TV for the most part. We used to start and end our day with watching TV news, financial shows and so on. What we have discovered is that none of these sources are unbiased, nor are they giving us real news or information. In addition, they used to make us feel on edge and anxious.

It was a slow, gradual thing that happened. First my husband tuned out. Then I saw his wisdom and decided to join him. We do watch TV but it is very selective. He watches sports, I watch home oriented shows or the food network. He watches financial shows with the sound off, I watch Masterpiece on PBS. But that is it. There are days and days that can go by with no sound of the TV blaring for either one of us.

It’s not like we don’t know what is going on as it is hard to totally disconnect from the world. Indeed, every time I log into my email account headlines reach out to titillate, to entice, to pull me into their stories and tales of woe.

What has changed is we are no longer news junkies, nor are we so wrapped up in the news that we forget to slow down, meditate, be present to each other. We are by no means the standard for no TV because as I stated, we DO watch….just much more conscientiously.

We have more peace in our lives, we go to sleep with sweetness on our minds, not violence, injustices, and world problems. We live with possibilities, not with the frustration of not being able to do anything about what is happening. We pray, we send out good energy, we yearn for a better world but we don’t wallow in the darkness.

I highly suggest you try to turn off the news to the best of your ability. I promise you your world will relax and you will feel better. If you choose to do this, let me know how it works for you and if it has made a difference for you. Good luck. And good bye, junk food for the mind!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goodbye Junk Food for the Mind

  1. Katherine Bellatorre says:

    That is a terrific idea. We are constantly bombarded with stimulation. Quiet and peace is such a rarity. I’m going to try this!!
    Kath

  2. Great Kath! Years ago when our kids were around 8-14, I turned off the car radio. Been shedding noise ever since! Hope you are both well! Big hugs to you! xo

  3. I can only watch a few minutes of news. It is always so bad that I can’t bear to listen to another minute. Instead, I listen to a lot of music on Pandora, and movies and shows on Netflix. Going back to regular television is not possible because I don’t like the interrupting ads, nor the level of shows available. And, I like watching on my terms, on my time. True freedom.

Leave a comment